Address

Unterloiben 7,
3601 Dürnstein
Directions

Opening Times

11.30 - 24.00 | Kitchen open 11.30 - 21.00
Closed: Mondays and Tuesdays
Open on public holidays

Reservations

0043 2732 82890
Online Reservation

„Excellent cuisine, offering much more than run-of-the-mill food"

Review from GAULT MILLAU Austria 2014.

Wachau

"A vineyard for one thousand five hundred years"

The history of the Wachau is naturally intertwined with much of the history of the vineyard. The name "Wachau" dates back to the description of an estate that belonged to a Bavarian monastery called Niederalteich in the Spitz area and was first mentioned in a Carolingian document from the year 830. At that time, the vineyard was already established in the Danube Valley downstream from Melk: The biography of St Severin, put together by his pupil, Eugippius, in the year 511 recounts that the saint withdrew to a remote hermitage called "In the vineyards". Severin lived around 470 close to the Roman settlement of Castells Favianis, the modern Mautern. 

In 791, Charlemagne made camp with his army in the Wachau on the way to his decisive and successful battle against the Avars. The newly-acquired land east of the Enns became a royal estate. Carolingian settlement of the land could begin. When the Bavarian troops were wiped out by the Hungarians at the Battle of Pressburg in 907, the land below the Enns fell to the Magyars, who ruled it for several decades. The victory of Otto I at the Battle of Lechfeld on St Lawrence's Day 955 saw the advent of a political counter-movement, which became the basis of the area's continuing development: The old possessory titles from the Carolingian period were revived. In 962 Otto I was crowned First Holy Roman Emperor of the German Nation. In 976 the first Babenberger was enfeoffed with the Grenzmark (border region) in the east. In 1156 the Grenzmark became the Duchy of Austria. In 1285 Leuthold I von Kuenring became "oberster Schenk in Österreich" (Chief Sommelier in Austria).

"Those who take a seat under the ancient apple trees or sit in the solid, rural comfort of the dining room, choosing this or that from the extensive menu, come just a little closer to the Wachau in their hearts."

Review from GAULT MILLAU Austria 2011

Wachau World Heritage Site

What do the pyramids of Giza, the Great Wall of China, the Taj Mahal in India, the Schönbrunn Palace, Ghega's Semmering Railway and the Wachau have in common? They all belong to an exclusive "club" of which the newest member is the Wachau: The landscape around the world-famous River Danube has been declared a World heritage Site.

According to the "World heritage Convention" held in 1972 by the General Conference of the UN cultural organisation Unesco, the term "cultural heritage" is applied to architectural works, large sculptures, monumental paintings, found or archaeological objects, groups of individual or linked buildings, human constructions or objects which are both works of nature and human constructions, as long as they are of outstanding universal value for historical, aesthetic, ethnological or anthropological reasons.
So Lower Austria now has a second World Heritage Site in addition to the "Ghega–Bahn" (named after its architect Karl Ritter von Ghega) which runs from Glognitz to Semmering. Both are now entitled to special care and attention. The Wachau, a landscape which has also been singled out for protection by the Council of Europe, has become a central area in Europe as the banks of the Danube have been settled for thousands of years. Over the centuries the Danube has been not only a transport route for crusaders and bands of pilgrims, but also an important trading route between east and west.
Today the Wachau is the high spot of a a holiday trip along the Danube, either by bike along the famous Danube Cycle Route, by boat or by car. The Wachau landscape with its cultural and culinary highlights is a rewarding holiday destination at any time of year.

The climate in the Wachau

The Wachau comes under the influence of various climate zones: Western Atlantic air masses meet warm continental patterns flowing in from the Panonian Plain in the east. Their continental characteristics (hot, dry summers - harsh winters) are moderated by the temperature-regulating effect of the Danube. The large water surface also reflects the sun's rays and encourages the formation of sugar in the grapes by photosynthesis. Microclimatic factors such as cool downslope winds and the aromatic forest air from the north reinforce the swings in temperature between day and night in the weeks prior to harvest (September/October) and promote the formation of aroma. The "cool" fruit and the exotic quality of Wachau wines are the result of this special climatic mix. The annual level of precipitation in the Wachau, which is less than 500 mm, falls mostly in the context of thunderstorms in the summer months and is therefore not easily absorbed by the soil. This makes irrigation a necessity in the dry, mountainous areas.

The history of Loiben

Loiben is made up of two villages; Unter and Ober Loiben. The most architecturally interesting parish church in Unterloiben, which is dedicated to St. Quirin, is a combination of two Gothic single-nave buildings. The high altar is by Martin Johann Schmidt.

On the Plain of Loiben on 11. 11. 1805, the Austrian and Russian troops besieged the Napoleonic army as it advanced towards Vienna. An enormous monument was erected as a memorial to this battle; the French War memorial.

Adresse

Unterloiben 7, 3601 Dürnstein
Anfahrt

Öffnungszeiten

11.30 - 24.00 | Küche 11.30 - 21.00 Uhr
Ruhetag: Montag und Dienstag
An Feiertagen geöffnet

„Sehr gute Küche, die mehr als das Alltägliche bietet“

Bewertung aus GAULT MILLAU Österreich 2014.

Wachau

"Weinbau seit eineinhalb Jahrtausenden"

Die Geschichte der Wachau ist naturgemäß auch weitgehend mit der Geschichte des Weinbaus ident. Der Name „Wachau“ geht auf die Bezeichnung eines Grundbesitzes des bayerischen Stifts Niederalteich im Raum Spitz zurück und wird erstmals im Jahr 830 in einer Karolingerurkunde erwähnt. Zu dieser Zeit war der Weinbau bereits im Donautal flussabwärts von Melk heimisch: Die Lebensbeschreibung des heiligen Severin, die von seinem Schüler Eugippius im Jahr 511 verfasst wurde, berichtet, dass sich der Heilige in eine entlegene Klause zurückzog, die "An den Weingärten" hieß. Severin lebte um 470 in der Nähe des römischen Castells Favianis, dem heutigen Mautern.

791 lagerte Karl der Große, als er zur siegreichen Entscheidungsschlacht gegen die Awaren zog, mit seinem Heer in der Wachau. Das neu erworbene Gebiet ostwärts der Enns galt als Königsgut. Das karolingische Siedlungswerk konnte beginnen. Mit der Vernichtung des Bayrischen Heerbannes durch die Ungarn in der Pressburger Schlacht vom Jahr 907 fiel das Land unter der Enns für wenige Jahrzehnte an die Magyaren. Mit dem Sieg Ottos I. auf dem Lechfeld am Laurentiustag des Jahres 955 setzte eine politische Gegenbewegung ein, die zur Grundlage der kontinuierlichen Weiterentwicklung wurde: Die alten Besitztitel aus der Karolingerzeit lebten wieder auf. 962 wurde Otto I. zum ersten Kaiser des Heiligen Römischen Reichs Deutscher Nation gekrönt. 976 wird der erste Babenberger mit der Grenzmark im Osten belehnt. 1156 wird aus der bayrischen Grenzmark das Herzogtum Österreich. 1285 wird Leuthold I. von Kuenring "oberster Schenk in Österreich".

"Wer im Loibnerhof unter alten Apfelbäumen oder in den gediegenen ländlichen Stuben Platz nimmt und aus der umfangreichen Karte das eine oder andere probiert, rückt der Wachau im Herzen ein Stück näher."

Bewertung aus GAULT MILLAU Österreich 2011.

Weltkulturerbe Wachau

Was verbindet die Pyramiden von Gizeh, die Chinesische Mauer, das Taj Mahal in Indien, Schloss Schönbrunn, die „Ghega – Bahn“ über den Semmering und die Wachau? Sie alle gehören einem exklusiven „Club“ an, dessen jüngstes Mitglied die Wachau ist: Die Landschaft am weltberühmten Donaustrom wurde zum Weltkulturerbe erklärt.

"Kulturerbe“ sind laut der von der Generalkonferenz der UN-Kulturorganisation Unesco 1972 beschlossenen „Welterbekonvention“  Werke der Architektur, Großplastiken, Monumentalmalereien, Objekte oder archäologische  Fundstücke, Gruppen einzelner oder verbundener Gebäude sowie Werke von Menschenhand oder gemeinsame Werke von Natur und Mensch, wenn sie aus geschichtlichen, ästhetischen, ethnologischen oder anthropologischen Gründen von außergewöhnlichem universellen Wert sind.
Niederösterreich hat damit neben der 1998 zum Weltkulturerbe ernannten „Ghega – Bahn“ (benannt nach dem Erbauer Karl Ritter von Ghega) über den Semmering ein zweites Weltkulturerbe, die damit beide Anspruch auf besondere Pflege und Sorgfalt haben.
Die Wachau, eine auch vom Europarat ausgezeichnete und geschützte Landschaft, ist durch die jahrtausendelange Besiedlung entlang der Donau zu einem Zentralraum Europas geworden. Über die Jahrhunderte hinweg war die Donau nicht nur ein Transportweg vieler Kreuzfahrer und Pilgergruppen, sondern auch ein wichtiger Handelsweg zwischen West und Ost.
Heute stellt die Wachau den Höhepunkt einer Urlaubsreise entlang der Donau dar, ob mit dem Rad entlang des berühmten Donauradwegs, mit dem Schiff oder dem Auto. Die Landschaft der Wachau mit ihren kulturellen und kulinarischen Glanzlichtern ist zu allen Jahreszeiten ein lohnendes Urlaubsziel.

Das Klima der Wachau

Die Wachau liegt im Einflussbereich verschiedener Klimazonen: Westlich-atlantische Luftmassen treffen auf warme, kontinentale Klimaströme, die von Osten aus der pannonischen Tiefebene einfließen. Ihr Kontinentalcharakter (heiße, trockene Sommer - strenge Winter) wird durch die temperaturausgleichende Wirkung der Donau gemildert. Die große Wasseroberfläche reflektiert außerdem das Sonnenlicht und fördert die Zuckerbildung in der Traube durch Photosynthese. Kleinklimatische Faktoren, z.B. die kühlen Fallwinde und die würzige Waldluft von Norden, verstärken die Temperaturschwankungen zwischen Tag und Nacht besonders in den Wochen vor der Ernte (September/ Oktober) und fördern die Aromabildung. Die "kühle" Frucht und die Exotik der Wachauer Weine ist das Resultat aus diesem speziellen Klima-Mix. Die Jahresniederschlagsmenge in der Wachau von weniger als 500 mm fällt meist in Form von Gewitterregen im Sommer und kann dadurch vom Boden schlecht aufgenommen werden, was in den trockenen Berglagen eine künstliche Beregnung erforderlich macht.

Historisches aus Loiben

Der Ort Loiben besteht aus den beiden Dörfern Unter- und Oberloiben. Die architektonisch höchst interessante Pfarrkirche in Unterloiben, die dem Hl. Quirin geweiht ist, ist eine Verbindung aus zwei einschiffigen gotischen Bauwerken. Der Hochaltar stammt von Martin Johann Schmidt.

In der Ebene von Loiben besiegten am 11. 11. 1805 die österreichischen und russischen Truppen das napoleonische Heer, das nach Wien vorrückte. Zum Gedenken an diese Schlacht wurde ein monumentales Denkmal errichtet, das Franzosendenkmal.